Three Newly Created Municipalities in the Upper West Region Inaugurated

A total of 44 newly created Municipalities and districts have been inaugurated throughout the Country.

In the Upper West Region, the Sissala East, Jirapa and Lawra districts were upgraded to Municipalities.

This was made known by the Minister of Local Government and Rural Development, Hajia Alima Mahama, who in November 2017, laid before parliament a Legislative Instrument (L. I.) backing the creation of new municipalities and districts in the country.

She disclosed that 14 of them are in the Ashanti Region, 10 in the Greater Accra, two in the Upper East, three in the Upper West two in the Northern, five in the Eastern, seven in the Western, two in the Central and two in Brong-Ahafo Regions.

In his inaugural speech in Jirapa on Thursday, 15th March, 2017, the Ag. Upper West Regional Minister, Hon. Amidu Chinnia Issahaku admonished the municipalities to live up to expectation to bring more development and investment prospects to the Municipalities and the entire Region as a whole.

He added that the creation of Municipalities and Districts is to ensure improved local governance at the local level and also trigger growth in the local economy.

The three Municipalities were inaugurated simultaneously by Hon. Amidu Chinnia Issahaku, Hon Ambrose P Dery and Hon Adongo Frank Fuseini (Deputy UER Minister) in Jirapa, Lawra and Sissala East respectively.

The move was aimed at ensuring an effective administrative system at the local level and drawing the citizenry closer to government.

This was in accordance with the 1992 constitution and Local Government Act, 2016, Act 936.

Comments are closed.